Battling the Bad with Beauty: A Girl Helps Another Girl Help Girls Around the World

Eight-year-old Alliana created this beautiful butterfly, of which she is selling prints to raise money for the Malala Fund.

Eight-year-old Alliana created this beautiful butterfly, of which she is selling prints to raise money for the Malala Fund.

   A little treasure arrived in the mail today. A lovely 8-year-old girl from Manitoba, Canada, has created a beautiful piece of artwork depicting a butterfly with hearts and other patterns; she is selling copies of her work and donating all proceeds to the Malala Fund. Battle the bad with beauty. A child helping another child help children around the world!
   Having encountered butterflies in some of the most haunting drawings and poetry by children during the Holocaust, the theme has added meaning to me. I also love the personal note from the artist!
   In the hope that others will support her endeavor, I append a link to her Facebook page.  She also has a Web page, with commentary!
2 thoughts on “Battling the Bad with Beauty: A Girl Helps Another Girl Help Girls Around the World

  1. I remembered running across this post a few months ago. First, I wanted to thank you again for supporting our daughter in her mission. Since she started, we have bought her a web domain and started a new site! http://www.battlethebadwithbeauty.com. I have shut down the old site and unfortunately that breaks the link in your post.

    Additionally, Alliana just presented her project at a seminar at the 2016 MEDA conference (www.meda.org), and her and her brother have set a new goal of $35,000 to help build a school through Pencils of Promise (www.pencilsofpromise.org). They reached their initial goal of $2,000, and are now dreaming bigger.

    Anyway, I wanted to get in touch to thank you and give you an update of what Alliana, and her brother, are up to!

    Thanks again for the purchase of a card, and the shoutout on your blog. I am humbled by the energy and belief children have about good people in the world. And then I’m humbled again when those good people respond.

    Sincerely,
    Ernest Rempel
    BTBWB

    • Thank you, Ernest, for your kind words. I am very happy to hear about Alliana’s progress! I still have her beautiful card framed in my dining room, which is also my office. I’m very happy to support her work, as her work is so important. I’ll post a link to your new Web page on Facebook and my other social media.

      All the best,

      Daniel L. Berek

Leave a Reply

